Some Go Fishing To Catch Fish, I Go To Catch The Anticipation

It’s the build-up to what might be a fantastic story to be told well into the future.

Outdoor writer Corey Ford once said, “The past never changes. You leave it and go on to the present, but it is still there, waiting for you to come back to it.”

This trip to the north country is a prime example of Ford’s quote. I was full of anticipation as this trip got closer and closer. The final week found me in my lure making shop busily putting the finishing touches on about half a dozen lures. I wanted to watch them swim back at me after splashing down following and got them ready for their maiden voyage. a very long flight between the end of my rod and the lake. I puttered and sprayed, added some hook hangers and hooks.

Once on the waters of Sawyer county I started switching baits often. I just wanted to see how all my hand-made plugs would behave on the trip back to the boat. If a fish were to strike before the trip was complete that would be like sprinkles on the top of a well baked and frosted cake.

The trip up here took longer than I had anticipated as the winding forest roads of the Chippewa Flowage area slowed me down. I wanted to to arrive and “get after it.” We were on the water soon thereafter. The fishing success that I had looked forward to didn’t meet my anticipation level which was chronicled in the previous story. However my level of anticipation had not waned. Each cast includes anticipation. One never knows when a fish might strike so you must always be ready to set the hook.

Last night I was able to satisfy some of my anticipation. I caught our first fish when a “hammer-handle” pike attacked my spinner bait. Now I anticipate next which we hope to be a fish of 10,000 casts.

Yesterday as Ron and I stood on the dock two people in a large boat eased past us on their way to the boat landing. The young lad in the front told us, “I almost caught a 36 inch northern.” I looked at Ron after the fellas in the boat were far enough away so they might not hear me and said, “Every time I cast and retrieve with no strike I like to believe that I almost caught one too.” We fished in earnest this morning but we had to settle for lunch and anticipation of what Teal Lake might provide us this evening. I bet the lady in the cabin next to us is also anticipating a fifth fish in her trip here. After all, to stay at least three fish ahead of Ron and I she too must be filled with what this essay is all about.

I’ll catch you up tomorrow.

Have a great day.

Bob

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Some Go Fishing To Catch Fish, I Go To Catch The Anticipation

  1. Carl Johnson

    Is it the catching a fish or the anticipation of doing it that matters? Probably it is mostly the joy of being “There”!! The beauty of the North, and shared friendships to be remembered.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.